Our Beloved (pbuh) and his love

November 23, 2008 at 9:31 pm Leave a comment

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

والحمدلله رب العالمين والصلاة والسلام على رسول الله

In the name of God, the most Merciful, the most Compassionate

All praise be to God, and may peace and blessings be upon the Messenger of God

This email is intended to, inshAllah, be a heart-softener. As the Prophet (pbuh) was a mercy to humanity, both Muslims and non-Muslims can learn from his example. But there are some things that he did specifically for us, out of love for a people he never met. For this reason at least, according to one da’iya, we should keep his memory constant in our hearts and minds.

The Prophet (pbuh) said:

For every apostle there is a (special) prayer by which he would pray (to his Lord). I, however, intend (if Allah so willed) that I would reserve my prayer for the intercession of my Ummah on the Day of Resurrection

-Muslim

The Messenger of Allah (pbuh) could have used his special prayer during the hard battles; he could have used his special prayer when he was being abused by his own people; and he could have used it in Ta’if or against Abu Lahab; but he chose to reserve it for his Ummah, us, when we need it the most. When “And each one of them will come unto Him on the Day of Resurrection, alone” (19.95), the Prophet (pbuh) sent by God will be praying for us.

When all of us ask the Prophets to intercede, they point us towards Mohammed (pbuh). “So they would come to me and I would ask the permission of my Lord and it would be granted to me, and when I would see Him, I would fall down in prostration, and He (Allah) would leave me thus as long as He would wish, and then it would be said:

O Muhammad, raise your head, say and you would be heard; ask and it would be granted; intercede and intercession would be accepted.

Then I would raise my head and extrol my Lord with the praise which my Lord would teach me. I shall then intercede, but a limit would be set for me I would bring them out from the Fire and make them enter Paradise (according to the limit). I shall return then and fall down in prostration and Allah would leave me (in that position) as long as He would wish to leave me it would be said:

Rise, O Muhammad, say and you would be heard; ask and it would be conferred; intercede and intercession would be granted.

I would raise my head and extrol my Lord with praise that He would teach me. I would then intercede and a limit would be set for me. I would bring them out of the Fire (of Hell) and make them enter Paradise. He (the narrator) said: I do not remember whether he (the Holy Prophet) said at the third time or at the fourth time: O my Lord, none has been left in the Fire, but those restrained by the Holy Qur’an” (Muslim)

Even during his lifetime, the Prophet (pbuh) thought of us many times. He once recited the Words of Allah (swt) that Ibrahim (as) uttered:

“My Lord! lo! they have led many of mankind astray:” But whoso followeth me, he verily is of me” (14. 35)

And Jesus (as) said: “If thou punisheth them, lo! they are Thy slaves, and if Thou forgiveth them-verily Thou art the Mighty, the Wise” (5.117).

Then he raised his hands and said: “O Lord, my Ummah, my Ummah“, and wept. (Muslim)

In another incident, the Messenger of Allah (pbuh) went to the burial grounds and said, “Peace be upon you, home of a people who believe! We shall be among you, Allah willing. I wish that I had seen our brothers!” The people with him said, “Messenger of Allah! Are we not your brothers?” “No,” he said, “You are my companions. Our brothers are those who have not yet come. And I will precede them to the Hawd. (The Hawd: the watering place of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, from which he will give to the people of his community on the day of rising.)” (Malik’s Muwatta’).

May we be of those whose hearts are filled with love for the Messenger of Allah (pbuh), and always remember what he did for us.

As for the easy bit inshAllah:

The Prophet (pbuh) said:

“Whoever after listening to the Adhan says, ‘Allahumma Rabba hadhihi-d-da’ watit-tammah, was-salatil qa’imat, ati Muhammadan al-wasilata wal-fadilat, wab’ athhu maqaman mahmudan-il-ladhi wa’ adtah

(O Allah! Lord of this perfect call (of not ascribing partners to You) and of the regular prayer which is going to be established! Kindly give Muhammad the right of intercession and superiority and send him (on the Day of Judgment) to the best and the highest place in Paradise which You promised him)’, then intercession from me will be permitted for him on the Day of Resurrection

– Bukhari

As always, if anyone has any suggestions, or criticisms, please email me.

May we always be reminded of our Beloved (pbuh), and may Allah aid us in emulating the characteristics of the Prophet (pbuh), and allow us to remember him and his endurance for the sake of his Ummah. And may we be of the people who are neighbors of the Prophet (pbuh) in Paradise, and who are given the pleasure of seeing God’s Face. Ameen.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Our Beloved (pbuh) and giving importance to others Our Beloved (pbuh) and his legacy with the Companions (ra)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



